

NEWS RELEASE – February 20, 2025 Contact: Nick Letzkus <u>letzkus@smenet.org</u>

## SME to Conclude MINEXCHANGE 2025 Conference with Major Awards Event

This gathering of the industry's finest professionals honors remarkable mining innovators, leaders, and experts, and will feature the induction of over 50 new SME Fellows to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Society's highest honor

**Denver, CO** - Each year, the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME) presents more than 70 awards throughout the week at MINEXCHANGE, the SME Annual Conference & Expo. SME award recipients represent the highest levels of professionalism and expertise in the mining and minerals industry, with awards given for both individual and group achievements.

The 2025 SME Awards Celebration will take place on Wednesday, February 26 from 5:30 pm – 8:00 pm inside the Centennial Ballroom & Foyer at the Hyatt Regency Denver (Colorado Convention Center). Like last year, the event is open to all attendees and is included in the MINEXCHANGE conference registration.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the prestigious SME Fellow Award, the highest honor bestowed by SME upon individuals who have made significant and sustained contributions to the minerals industry and the society itself. Typically, only a handful of members receive this designation annually. However, in recognition of the award's 50th anniversary, the SME Board has chosen to induct over 50 new Fellows in 2025.

"SME is beyond honored for the opportunity to welcome the best and brightest in mining to this international stage, where deserving awardees will be honored for their unique contributions,"



in f 🎔 💶 🔯 🛛

Inspiring Mining Professionals Worldwide



said Marc Herpfer, 2024 SME President. "We look forward to welcoming the global mining community to Denver for another fantastic conference."

Other notable awards include:

- Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal, presented to George W. Luxbacher
- Mineral Economics Award, presented to Scott A. Stebbins
- Mineral Industry Education Award, presented to John W. Grubb
- AIME Honorary Member Award, presented to William W. Edgerton and Ronald L.
  Parratt
- Erskine Ramsay Medal, presented to Robert P. Kudlawiec
- Frank F. Aplan Award, presented to Jack Groppo
- Ivan B. Rahn Education Award, presented to Andrea J. Brickey
- James Douglas Gold Medal, presented to Kathleen A. Altman
- Rossiter W. Raymond Award, presented to Amy L. McBrayer
- John Fritz Medal, presented to Alan C. Bovik
- Robert E. Murray Innovation Award, presented to Eriez
- Robert Earll McConnell Award, presented to Daniel P. Connell
- Robert H. Richards Award, presented to Jaisen Kohmuench
- Robert M. Dreyer Award, presented to José Perelló
- William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal, presented to C. Kevin McArthur
- Syd S. Peng and Felicia F. Peng Ground Control in Mining Award, presented to Vincent A. Scovazzo
- President's Citation, presented to Emily J. Haas, Ronel Kappes, and Tarun Bhambani
- President's Section Citation, presented to the SME Colombia South America Section and the SME Utah Section

For more information regarding the 2025 SME Awards Celebration and a full list of recipients, visit <u>smeannualconference.org/awards</u>.



Inspiring Mining Professionals Worldwide

Mining, Metallurgy



## About SME

The Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME) brings together the mining and mineral industry's brightest and most dedicated professionals. Over 14,000 global members advance their careers with the world-class technical resources, educational programs, networking opportunities and professional development tools from SME. Our members are focused on sharing best practices for safety, environmental stewardship and moving mining forward. SME. *Inspiring mining professionals worldwide*.



12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 Phone: 720-738-4085 | Email Us: cs@smenet.org



Inspiring Mining Professionals Worldwide