## Chairs of the Mineral & Metallurgical Processing Division (MPD) Executive Committee

Note: The Mill Gentleman/Lady of Distinction Award is presented to the Past Chair of the Mineral & Metallurgical Processing Division (MPD) of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME) for services rendered on the MPD Executive Committee as a leader of the Division. It includes an accolade poem in both Latin and English.

## Mill Gentleman/Lady of Distinction (MPD) Award

With ten rights and privileges pertaining, which are:

- 1) To prospect with any and all doodle bugs' that guarantee the tonnage and assay in advance.
- 2) To teach the Mining Engineer the few simple rudiments involved in delivering a uniform feed to the mill.
- To crush all new theories or machines before they spoil your performance record.
- 4) To grind to a stop before John Law catches up with you.
- 5) To concentrate all oxides at annual meetings, sulfides at midyear meetings and native metal at home.
- 6) To practice the treating of materials by heat, but restrict liquid distillation to the Scotch Nightcap, so as not to tread on the toes of other divisions.
- 7) To handle all solutions if the value does not exceed a buck two ninety-five (imported brands disallowed), including state and federal tax
- 8) To practice operating control herein defined as 'self-control.'
- 9) Unswerving loyalty to the Division to keep your tail up while keeping mill tails down.
- 10) In general, the right to thumb your nose at conventional mill practices while extending your hand to brethren in distress.

| No. | Year Taking Chair | Name of MPD Chair |
|-----|-------------------|-------------------|
| 77  | 2024              | Jaeheon Lee       |
| 76  | 2023              | David G Meadows   |
| 75  | 2022              | Ronel Kappes      |
| 74  | 2021              | P Garland Davis   |
| 73  | 2020              | Scott Shuey       |
| 72  | 2019              | James P Metsa     |
| 71  | 2018              | D Erik Spiller    |
| 70  | 2017              | Michael S Moats   |
| 69  | 2016              | Mark K Jorgensen  |
| 68  | 2015              | Richard H Johnson |
| 67  | 2014              | John L Uhrie      |
| 66  | 2013              | Corby G Anderson  |
| 65  | 2012              | S Jayson Ripke    |
| 64  | 2011              | Courtney A Young  |
| 63  | 2010              | DR Nagaraj        |

| 62 | 2009            | S Rick Gilbert        |
|----|-----------------|-----------------------|
| 61 | 2008            | Jon J Kellar          |
| 60 | 2007            | Deepak Malhotra       |
| 59 | 2006            | K Marc Levier         |
| 58 | 2005            | Patrick R Taylor      |
| 57 | 2004            | John O Marsden        |
| 56 | 2003            | John Mansanti         |
| 55 | 2002            | Subash Chander        |
| 54 | 2002            | Bill A Hancock        |
| 53 | 2000            | Greg T Adel           |
| 52 | 1999            | James R Arnold        |
| 51 | 1998            | Edward C Dowling      |
| 50 | 1997            | S Komar Kawatra       |
| 49 | 1996            | Kenneth N. Han        |
| 48 | 1995            | Arthur A Schweizer    |
| 47 | 1994            | Bernard J Scheiner    |
| 46 | 1993            | Brij M Moudgil        |
| 45 | 1992            | Lawrence D Hartzog    |
| 44 | 1991            | J Brent Hiskey        |
| 43 | 1990            | Kal VS Sastry         |
| 42 | 1989            | Richard R Klimpel     |
| 42 | 1989            | Dennis K Mortensen    |
| 40 | 1987            | John A Herbst         |
| 39 | 1986            | Martin C Kuhn         |
| 38 | 1985            | Gerald V Jergensen II |
| 37 | 1984            | Mark Anderson         |
| 36 | 1983            | Kenneth L Clifford    |
| 35 | 1982            | P Somasundaran        |
| 34 | 1981            | Peter T Luckie        |
| 33 | 1980            | Jan D Miller          |
| 32 | 1979            | A Tobey Yu            |
| 31 | 1978            | Thomas O Breitling    |
| 30 | 1977            | Walter Nummela        |
| 29 | 1976            | Roshan B Bhappu       |
| 23 | 1370            | Maurice C             |
| 28 | 1975            | Fuerstenau            |
| 27 | 1974            | Hugh W Evans          |
| 26 | 1973            | Burt C Mariacher      |
| 25 | 1972            | Frank F Aplan         |
| 24 | 1971            | Edward S Frohling     |
| 23 | 1970            | Robert S Shoemaker    |
| 22 | 1969            | F Willam Bloecher     |
| 21 | 1968            | FT (Casey) Davis      |
| 20 | 1967            | Donald J Drinkwater   |
| 1  | <del> • ·</del> | = 3                   |

| 19 | 1966 | Douglas W                    |
|----|------|------------------------------|
| 18 | 1965 | Fuerstenau William T Marston |
|    |      |                              |
| 17 | 1964 | Bunting S Crocker            |
| 16 | 1963 | Donald A Dahlstrom           |
| 15 | 1962 | Stephen E Erickson           |
| 14 | 1961 | Neil Plummer                 |
| 13 | 1960 | H Rush Spedden               |
| 12 | 1959 | Wayne L Dowdey               |
| 11 | 1958 | Nathaniel Arbiter            |
| 10 | 1957 | William B                    |
| 10 |      | Stephenson                   |
| 9  | 1956 | Norman L Weiss               |
| 8  | 1955 | Will Mitchell Jr             |
| 7  | 1954 | Stanley D Michaelson         |
| 6  | 1953 | Donald W Scott               |
| 5  | 1952 | Edward H Crabtree Jr         |
| 4  | 1951 | Raymond E Byler              |
| 3  | 1950 | Grover J Holt                |
| 2  | 1949 | SJ Swainson                  |
| 1  | 1948 | John F Myers                 |