

# **HOWARD N. EAVENSON AWARD**

## **Guidelines & Procedures**

#### Overview

The Howard N. Eavenson Award (Eavenson Award) is given for distinguished contributions to the advancement of coal mining. Candidates for the Eavenson Award should have, within the two years prior to selection, contributed substantially to the advancement of the coal industry, whether by research, invention, publication or advances in mining or development methods (labor relations not included.)

All candidates must be living at the time of selection in order to receive the Eavenson Award. Members of the current award committee are not eligible to receive the award during their term of service on the award committee.

#### **Timeline**

The Eavenson Award typically adheres to the following timeline:

Due Date	Task
April 1	Call for nominations
June 1	Nomination deadline
June 30	Committee chair provides qualified applications to
	members of committee
July 15	First round of voting complete; committee chair
	schedules conference call to discuss results (if needed)
July 25	Second round of voting complete (if needed)
August 1	Recipient name and citation provided to awards
	coordinator
September 15	Recipient is notified
SME Annual Meeting	Award is presented

### **Nominations**

Nominations for the Eavenson Award should contain the following information:

- 1. Completed nomination form including demographic and contact information for both the nominee and the principal nominator.
- 2. Up to five letters of support detailing the nominee's qualifications for the award (no longer than 2 pages each).
- 3. Nominee's biography (2 page maximum).
- 4. Nominee's CV/resume (abbreviated version 3 page maximum).
- 5. List of papers/publications (abbreviated version 3 page maximum).
- 6. Appropriate award citation.

All nominations submitted will be considered active nominations for a period of three years. Nominations must be submitted in accordance with the guidelines provided on the award nomination form, which may be downloaded here: http://www.smenet.org/awards/

Administration	The Eavenson Award is administered by SME's Coal & Energy Division. The Award Committee consists of six members appointed by the Coal & Energy Division. The term of service shall be three year rotation. The chair shall be chosen from these who are senior in length of service to the Committee.
Selection of Recipients	Recipients of the Eavenson Award shall be selected by a majority vote by the Committee of the Award, subject to the approval of the SME Board of Directors. The Award need not be presented in any given year if a suitable candidate is not agreed upon.
Award	The Eavenson Award shall consist of a suitable certificate or plaque engraved or embossed with the Award winner's name, year of the Award, and a citation of the service or achievement upon which the award is based. The Eavenson Award also includes a check for \$3,000, the amount of which can be increased in amount by increments of \$250 for recognition of particularly outstanding contribution upon recommendation of the Award Committee and approval of the Coal & Energy Executive Committee and SME Board of Directors.
Presentation of the Award	The Eavenson Award will be presented at the Coal & Energy Division's Annual Awards Luncheon, held in conjunction with SME's Annual Meeting. The award recipient will receive one complimentary ticket to the luncheon (provided by the C&E Division).
Funding	All expenses incurred in respect of the Eavenson Award shall be the financial responsibility of the Coal & Energy Division and are typically paid from the proceeds of the Howard N. Eavenson fund of AIME.
Amendments	These guidelines may be amended by the Eavenson Award Committee, subject to approval by the C&E Executive Committee and SME Board of Directors. Any such amendments must be reflected in all appropriate award documentation.
Questions	Questions may be directed to: Awards Coordinator, SME Member Services Department Phone: 303-948-4200 E-mail: awards@smenet.org