

ARTHUR F. TAGGART AWARD

Summary and Rules

OVERVIEW AND ELIGIBILITY	The Arthur F. Taggart Award is to be made for the paper or series of closely related papers with at least one common author, which in the opinion of the Committee represents a notable contribution to the science of minerals processing. If, in the opinion of the Committee, no paper or series of papers is considered sufficiently meritorious, the award need not be made in a given year.
SELECTION	The selection shall be made from papers on mineral processing, published in <i>Minerals and Metallurgical Processing Journal, Mining Engineering, Transactions,</i> or any other appropriate SME publication published within the year preceding the award. For the purpose of this award, an award year shall be considered to run from June 1 to May 31. The award shall be presented at the SME Annual Conference & Expo.
NOMINATIONS	Nominations for the Arthur F. Taggart Award shall consist of papers where either the first author or the corresponding author are members of SME. No other restrictions are to be attached to eligibility for the Award with respect to nationality, citizenship, age, sex, or occupation of the author or authors.
AWARD	The award shall be a plaque. If the selected paper has more than one author, each author shall receive a plaque.
SELECTION OF RECIPIENTS	Papers authored by a committee member or chair shall be considered ineligible for the award during their period of incumbency, but should a paper by the chair or a member be suggested for the award by any committee member, they shall have the privilege, at their own discretion, of resigning for that year. The selection procedure to be used shall be as follows: A. Each committee member shall nominate not more than three worthy publications. These nominations shall be submitted to the committee chair on or before July 1 of each year. B. The committee chair shall check with SME headquarters to ensure that all authors nominated for this Award are members of SME. If a nominee is not a member of SME he/she shall not be eligible to be placed on the Award ballot. The chair shall then prepare a ballot to consist of the names of all eligible nominees plus one additional listing for "none of the above." This ballot shall be sent to all committee members for a vote. Each committee member shall vote for one paper only. C. If any paper receives a majority of the votes, it shall be declared the winner. If no paper receives a majority on the first ballot, all papers receiving no votes shall be dropped and a second ballot shall be sent out containing the remaining nominations plus a listing for "none of the above." D. If, after a second ballot, there is still no paper with a majority of votes, all papers receiving one vote shall be dropped and a third ballot shall be sent out containing the remaining nominations plus a listing for "none of the above." E. This procedure shall be carried out through four ballots. If no paper receives a majority vote after four ballots, or if at any time during the voting, no nominations remain, the committee chair shall inform the MPD Executive Committee that no award will be made for that year.



ARTHUR F. TAGGART AWARD

Summary and Rules

-

SELECTION OF RECIPIENTS	No repeat award shall be given to an individual author or co-author during the tenure of an individual member of the Taggart Award Committee that granted the original award to the author or co-author. In evaluating papers, the committee should give particular weight as to whether or not the papers advance the mineral processing arts and sciences. Whether the material covered is original or the compilation of previous work also shall be taken into consideration. Papers that simply review the work of others are not considered eligible for this award. The Award Committee chair shall submit the committee's report on or before August 1 to the division chair, who in turn shall advise the Executive Director of SME so that the recommendation can be brought before the SME Board of Directors for approval.
PRESENTATION OF AWARD	The details of the award shall be published in the program of the SME Annual Conference & Expo and in the listing of the Institute Awards in the program of the Annual Institute Banquet. The award is to be presented at the Mineral & Metallurgical Processing Division Luncheon during the SME Annual Conference & Expo or on such other appropriate occasion as may be designated by the Executive Committee of the Division.
QUESTIONS	Questions may be directed to: Awards Coordinator Email: <u>awards@smenet.org</u> or SME Member Services Department Phone: 303-948-4200